Ranji Trophy 2010-11 : Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh match drawn : Karnataka enters knock out stage

Ranji Trophy 2010-11 : Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh match drawn : Karnataka enters knock out stage

Highlights of the Ranji Trophy match : Karnataka vs Uttar Pradesh at Kanpur : 15-18th December 2010 This article is penned by Sri C Keshavamurthy

Karnataka maintained its streak of not losing a match by for the sixth time in succession in 2010/11 when it gained first innings lead and drew the match against Uttar Pradesh at Kanpur which ended on 18th December 2010. With the result being an expected draw after UP managed to score 319, Karnataka’s top players were back to form for the first time, first six batsmen scoring fifties .

Amit Verma continued his batting form to score half centuries in each innings (54 & 89) taking his aggregate of half centuries to six besides three centuries in 17 matches. He also completed 1000 run mark during his score of 89 in the second innings when he was on 31. He reached the milestone in the 26th innings of his 17th Ranji Trophy match. At the end of this match his aggregate stood at 1058 runs at an average of 46.00.

R Vinaykumar scored 51 which was his second consecutive fifty. He had scored 50 not out in the previous match against Baroda at Mysore. He has now a tally of four half centuries in 48 Ranji Trophy matches. With 51 in this match, he equaled his highest individual score – an identical score had been made by him against Punjab in the quarter final at Mysore in 2009/10.

Ganesh Satish scored his first century of this season when he made an unbeaten 100 in the second innings. His highest score in 2010/11 prior to this match was 76 against Baroda at Mysore. Ganesh Satish also completed 1000 runs in Ranji Trophy when he reached 34 during his knock of 100 not out in this match. He has played 28 innings and 16 Ranji Trophy matches. At the end of this match his aggregate stood at 1066 runs at an average of 44.41 with three centuries and five half centuries.

Amit Verma and Ganesh Satish became the 41st and 42nd players for Karnataka to complete 1000 or more runs in Ranji Trophy. The list is headed by Brijesh Patel who tops the list with 7126 runs in 104 matches.

CM Gautam – who has become the constant savior for Karnataka on many occasions, rescued Karnataka again with a splendid 115 – his fifth century and second in this season. He added 126 runs for the ninth wicket with Udit Patel. CM Gautam has now aggregated 392 runs in five matches this season, at an average of 56.00. Gautam’s tally at the end of this match is 909 runs in 16 matches at 43.28.

Udit Patel scored his maiden half century (72) in his 19th Ranji Trophy match and 23rd innings. His previous highest was 35 against Saurashtra at Rajkot in 2006/07.

RV Uthappa coried 67 in the second innings which was his 15th half century and 24th fifty in 48 matches. KB Pawan socred 50 in this game which was his ninth half century and 13th fifty in 29 Ranji Trophy matches. He has an aggregate of 1683 runs from 29 Ranji Trophy matches.

MK Pandey scored his second half century of the season, in addition to his two centuries. He has now accumulated 1631 runs in 20 matches at 52.62. Fifty by Pandey is his 8th half century besides six centuries.

Stuart Binny hit an unbeaten 127 in the second innings. 127 by Binny is his second century besides three half centuries in 23 matches. He had scored his maiden century (109) in the match against Himachal Pradesh at Dharmasala this season. Binny is also on the threshold of a landmark of 1000 runs in Ranji Trophy needing just 40 runs.

The following are the leading run scorers for Karnataka in Ranji Trophy upto the quarter final stage in 2010/11 : {Qualification of 300 plus runs} – MK Pandey {556} : AA Verma {497} : RV Uthappa {407} and CM Gautham {392} and STR Binny {331}

The following are the leading wicket takers for Karnataka in Ranji Trophy upto the quarter final stage in 2010/11 : {Qualification of 10 wickets} – S Aravind {22} : A Mithun {19} : SB Joshi {19} and R Vinay Kumar {14}

B Kumar of Uttar Pradesh, completed 1000 runs in Ranji Trophy for Uttar Pradesh when he reached 38 during his innings of 62. He was playing in his 42nd innings of 26th Ranji Trophy. Kumar’s 62 in this game represents is his sixth half century. His highest individual score is 80 made against Mumbai at Hyderabad in 2008/09.

Piyush Chawla registered his highest individual score in Ranji Trophy when he scored his maiden century 104. Incidentally this was also his highest individual score against Karnataka as he had missed out on a hundred against Karnataka at Bangalore in 2008/09 when he was dismissed for 96. Besides this century, Chawla’s contribution with the bat has been adorable, having made 12 half centuries, in 43 Ranji Trophy matches. He was playing in his 65th innings. He has aggregated 1726 runs at 27.83. Chawla had made debut against Baroda at Ghaziabad in 2005/06 and had taken five wickets in an innings on his debut.

By scoring 104 and taking 5/95, Piyush Chawla performed the all-round feat and became only the fourth player to score a century and take five wickets in an innings against Karnataka in Ranji Trophy; The following is the complete list of players who have taken five wickets in an innings and also scored a century in the same match against Karnataka: CT Sarwate of Holkar – 101 and 9 for 61 at Indore in 1945-46 : BC Alva of Chennai – 138 and 5 for 82 at Bangalore in 1950/51 : ML Jaisimha of Hyderabad – 110 and 5 for 40 at Bangalore in 1962/63 and PP Chawla of Uttar Pradesh – 105 and 5 for 95 at Kanpur in 2010/11

537/4 d by Karnataka is its second 500 plus total this season after making 503 against Orissa at Bangalore; This is the 33rd time Karnataka has made 500 or more in an innings and the fourth time against Uttar Pradesh. The previous three occasions against UP are: 619/5 d at Bangalore in 1997/98 : 511 at Bangalore in 2008/09 and 575/5 d at Bangalore in 2009/10

Uttar Pradesh conceded extras of 54 in the second innings. This happens to be the third highest after 56 and 55 conceded against Karnataka by other opponents. The complete list of most extras (50 and above) conceded against Karnataka is as under: 56 in a total of 557 by Hyderabad at Bangalore in 1999/00 {Wicket keeper – S Riazuddin } : 55 in a total of 184 8erala at Quilon in 1988/89 {Wicket keeper – A Panicker} : 54 in a total of 537 for 4d by Uttar Pradesh at Kanpur in 2010/11 {Wicket keeper – Amir Khan} ; 53 in a total of 551 by Bombay at Bombay in 1982/83 {Wikcet keeper – CS Pandit and 52 in a total of 488} and 53 in a total of 488 by Baroda at Vadodara in 2009/10

The ninth wicket partnership of 126 runs between CM Gautam and UB Patel is the best for Karnataka in Ranji Tropy in its 163 matches for ninth wicket, The previous best was 117 runs between S Darashah and GM Rajashekhar against Madras at Bangalore inn 1943/44.

Playing Record at the end of match against Uttar Pradesh on 18.12.2010: Karnataka; Played-363, Won-164, Lost-56, Drawn-143 (incl NR/RQ/SC games) : In 2010/11; Played-6, Won-3, Drawn-3 (Lead Gained-2, Lead Conceded-1_: Uttar Pradesh: Played-308, Won-73, Lost-74, Drawn-161 : In 2010/11; Played-6, Won-1, Drawn-1, Drawn-4

Karnataka will be facing Madhya Pradesh in the quarter final scheduled at Indore from 24th to 27th December 2010.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *